National contractors group names 39 safest companies

The Associated General Contractors of America named 39 firms as the nation’s safest construction companies. The association, which oversees the Construction Safety Excellence Awards, an annual ranking of construction safety programs, noted that these companies were recognized for the strength of their safety programs and their overall safety performance during 2010.

“For the construction industry, protecting employees is a top priority,” said Ted Aadland, the association’s past president and the CEO of Portland, Oregon-based Aadland Evans Constructors, Inc. “Completed projects don’t mean anything if worker safety is compromised.”

Aadland said that these companies were selected because of their strong commitment to safety. He noted that the companies were dedicated to the development and implementation of premier safety and loss prevention programs. The companies also demonstrated outstanding leadership in safety and occupation health management, risk control, safety training, work site hazard identification and control, and safety program innovation.

The following companies received first place for their safety programs: Miller Bros. Construction, Inc. of Archbold, Ohio; Austin Bridge & Road, L.P. of Irving, Texas; Glacier Construction Co. of Greenwood, Colorado; Cox Construction Co. of San Diego, California; Fretz Constriction Company of Houston, Texas; Paric Corporation of O’Fallen, Missouri; W.S. Bellows Construction Corporation of Houston, Texas; Linbeck Group, LLC of Houston, Texas; C.F. Jordan Construction, LLC of El Paso, Texas; Flintco, LLC of Tulsa, Oklahoma; Turner Construction Company of Woodcliff, New Jersey; West Construction Company, Inc. of Anchorage, Alaska; Blois Construction, Inc. of Oxnard, California; The Delaney Group, Inc., A Tetra Tech Company of Mayfield, New York; URS Energy and Construction of Boise, Idaho; Gray Construction of Lexington, Kentucky; Reese Electric, Inc. of North Bend, Oregon; Peterson Beckner Industries, Inc. of Houston, Texas; Kenny Electric of Denver, Colorado; and Vulcan Industrial Contractors Co., LLC of Birmingham, Alabama.

Aadland noted that there are multiple winners because the awards are distributed for a number of categories, based on the size of the company, the amount of work performed and the type of work performed. He added that the Construction Safety Excellence Award winners are selected by a panel of five independent safety professionals within the government, corporate and insurance industries. Final judging for the awards program took place during last week’s annual convention for the contractors’ association.

In addition to the first place winners, the following companies won second place: Granite Construction, Incorporated of Watsonville, California; Slayden Construction Group, Inc. of Stayton, Oregon; A.A. Boos & Sons, Inc., Oregon, Ohio; Corna Kokosing Construction Company of Westerville, Ohio; Soltek Pacific Construction Company of San Diego, California; Caddell Construction Co., Inc. of Montgomery, Alabama; Barton Malow Company of Southfield, Michigan; PCL Construction Services, Inc., Denver, Colorado; Syblon Reid of Folsom, California; Flatiron Construction Corporation of Firestone, Colorado; Straub Construction, Inc. of Benicia, California; West Electric Group of Colorado Springs, Colorado; and Encore Electric, Inc. of Englewood, Colorado.

And the following companies were awarded third place for the quality of their safety programs: Dawson Construction, Inc. of Bellingham, Washington; Blach Construction Company of Santa Clara, California; Adolfson & Peterson, Inc. of Minneapolis, Minnesota; JE Dunn Construction of Houston, Texas; and Johnson, Finch & McClure Construction of Lakeside, California.

Related Posts:

  • No Related Posts