WoodWorks Now Accepting Nominations for 2016 U.S. Wood Design Awards

National Award Program Celebrates Innovation in the Design and Construction of Non-Residential and Multi-Family Wood Buildings

 WASHINGTON, D.C. WoodWorks, an educational initiative providing free technical support and resources related to the design and construction of non-residential and multi-family wood buildings, is now accepting nominations for its 2016 U.S. Wood Design Awards. The awards recognize excellence in wood design, construction and engineering, and showcase innovative buildings that demonstrate wood’s strength, beauty, versatility, cost-effectiveness and sustainability. The deadline for nominations is September 30, 2015.

Projects may be submitted in the following seven categories:

  • Multi-Story Wood Design
  • Wood in Educational Buildings
  • Commercial Wood Design
  • Institutional Wood Design
  • Green Building with Wood
  • Beauty of Wood
  • Wood in Government Buildings

Projects across these categories will also be selected to receive regional awards of excellence. For category details and nomination forms, please visit www.woodworks.org/wood-design-awards/nominate.

“Wood Design Awards are a way of celebrating and being inspired by architects and engineers who explore new territory with their building designs—architecturally, from a structural engineering standpoint, or through the use of innovative new products and building systems,” said Jennifer Cover, PE, executive director of WoodWorks. “It’s always exciting to see how a new year of nominees will demonstrate ingenuity while leveraging the many attributes wood has to offer as both a structural and finish material.”

Special consideration will be given to recently completed buildings, projects that utilize wood as a structural element, and innovative designs that exemplify new opportunities for wood construction.

Deadline and Eligibility
Award submissions must be received by midnight on September 30, 2015. There are no nomination fees and multiple submissions are encouraged. To be eligible, projects and design/construction firms must be located in the U.S. or its territories and projects must be fully constructed by September 30, 2015. Complete details and nomination materials are available at www.woodworks.org/wood-design-awards/nominate.

Past winning projects can be viewed at http://www.woodworks.org/project-gallery/.

Related Posts: